Tags

, , , , ,

Purple Morning Glory

Purple Morning Glory

To make  Fruit leather you  puree  the fruit or vegetable which is then  dried and rolled into chewy taffy.

Apples, apricots, berries (all kinds), cherries, nectarines, peaches,pears, pineapple and plums make excellent fruit leathers. Be sure to remove excess seeds from berries. Fresh fruit is the best, but do not overlook canned or frozen which can be used any time of the year. The vegetable leather is a little harder to find recipes for.

I have always wanted to make fruit leather, but I also want to try something different. So I have decided  to make some vegetable leather instead. I am going to include the link for the recipe I will start with and then I will try mixing  a fruit with the  vegetable.  I will let you know what ingredients I use and how it taste when I finish.  I think I will use apple and pumpkin. Stay tuned for update on Sunday 8/11.

http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/dry/veg_leathers.html

I have made the pumpkin/apple mixture and it now in the dehydrator.

1 – 15 oz can solid pack pumpkin, pumpkin only

1½ cup  unsweetened apple sauce, I used store-bought

¼ cup  Agave Nectar or honey

¼ teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

¼ teaspoon cinnamon

Heat all in a sauce pan to 140 degrees then spread on  the plastic tray that comes with the dehydrator or on plastic wrap . Dry until it is like leather.

Wow my house smells like a pumpkin pie is baking!

Well I finally tasted the pumpkin/apple leather and I really like the flavor, not too sweet and the apple lightens the heavier pumpkin taste. If you like really sweet snacks you might add more of the sweetener. I think I will really like it  for a quick snack between meals.

